|
Identifying fake e-mails
As WDF grows more popular, there is the chance that you will receive e-mails that claim to be from a WDF team member or administrator. While often this is the case, it may be fradulent as well. Sites like PayPal and other large companies have fradulent e-mails being circulated on literally a daily basis.
Here are some tips to protect yourself: - There will absolutely never be any e-mails sent from WDF that ask for your username, password, or other personally-identifiable information.
- E-mails sent from WDF will always be from the account "noreply" and from the domain "webdesignforums.net". The header should include demeter.hmdnsgroup.com (or an IP resolving from that hostname).
- E-mails that were sent via the e-mail form at WDF will always be tagged with the following. Official e-mails will never contain this text.
Quote:
|
This is a message from username at Web Design Forums.net. To reply, you can visit the specified link.
|
- Note that the users listed at http://www.webdesignforums.net/showgroups.php are the only WDF team members. Crafty users may try substituting letters with visually similar numbers and such. If you're unsure that a message you received is from a moderator, send the moderator an e-mail or private message by clicking his name in that list.
- Always be cautious when posting your e-mail address publicly as spambots and other undesirable users can pick it up. Instead, if you must use e-mail, use the mail form here which completely hides your e-mail address from the sender.
- Never trust e-mails that contain in URLs the "at" sign or a colon.
Immediately report any e-mail you consider to be suspect, whether you are certain or not. If you think your account's security has been compromised, change your password immediately.
Last edited by filburt1; January 1 '06 at 05:05 PM.
|