Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    5
    Member #
    7038
    I have a flash movie and I don't want IE or Netscape to cache the file. Does anyone have any code to do so. I am creating an updatable menu using xml but as everything is being cached when I change the menu I don't see the changes on the web.

    V.

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member justlivyalife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    2,871
    Member #
    2374
    Try out this link, found from a google search. Looks like it may be of some use to you .
    justlivyalife - The future depends on what we do in the present. (Mahatma Gandhi)
    WDF Resources: WDF Rules
    Non-WDF: JavascriptSource | Dynamic Drive | phpBB | HTML-Kit | Winamp | Download Firefox | Morguefile

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    5
    Member #
    7038
    I tried the Following but it doesn't seem to work


    // The first step is to activate the XML object
    entreeXML = new XML();

    // generate a unique value to Prevent data from caching
    var cKiller = new Date().getTime();


    // With the XML Object now active you must now load an XML formatted document.
    // Any DTD or XLS formatting will be ignored.
    entreeXML.onLoad = myLoad;

    // append it to the url of the file:
    entreeXML.load("../Data/entree.xml?cKiller=" + cKiller); //XML File


    // Check the XML document has loaded
    // Extract information from the XML file
    function myLoad(ok) {
    if (ok == true) {
    Publish(this.firstChild);
    }
    }
    function Publish(EntreeXMLNode) {
    if (EntreeXMLNode.nodeName.toUpperCase() == "ENTREE") {
    content = "";
    menu = EntreeXMLNode.firstChild;
    while (menu != null) {
    if (menu.nodeName.toUpperCase() == "MENU") {
    food = "";
    body = "";
    price = "";
    element = menu.firstChild;
    while (element != null) {
    if (element.nodeName.toUpperCase() == "FOOD") {
    food = element.firstChild.nodeValue;
    }
    if (element.nodeName.toUpperCase() == "BODY") {
    body = element.firstChild.nodeValue;
    }
    if (element.nodeName.toUpperCase() == "PRICE") {
    price = element.firstChild.nodeValue;
    }
    element = element.nextSibling;
    }
    content += "<font face='Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif' size='+2' color='#FFFFFF'><b>" +food+"</b></font><br><font face='Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif' size='+1' color='#FFFFFF'>"+body+"</font><br>";
    txt.htmltext = content;
    }
    menu = menu.nextSibling;
    }
    }
    }
    stop();

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    5
    Member #
    7038
    Sorry justlivyalife ignore the last post the code is working.
    I have another question though I have a preloader that once all the bytes are loaded it uses the gotoandplay() command to play the movie. How would I alter this to use:
    some_mc.loadMovie("external.swf?cKiller=" + cKiller); // flash movie


    I would still like to have the preloader being used


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

stop flash from caching

Click on a term to search for related topics.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:26 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com