Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Flash

  1. #1
    cgf
    cgf is offline
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    16
    Member #
    758
    Hi Guys,

    Me again, getting quite good at this!!! My second time……

    Hope you guys can help me I am trying to use Flash MX (never used any flash before) to do play an intro like this http://www.mexicanhatdesigns.com/ …. What I need to display are the words Welcome to West End Academicals RFC with the Jpeg logo that I have... As you can see from the link above while the flash file is loading you are being informed by the loading dialogue. You also have the option to skip intro, how do you do that..?….

    Is this a big job..?... I am still new at web design......

    Any help guys would be really appreciate!!!!!
    Happy go lucky!!!

  2.  

  3. #2
    JR
    JR is offline
    Senior Member JR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,354
    Member #
    257
    to skip the intro you would need to use some actionscript, do you know how to use simple actionscript?

    i will probably create a file to show you if you need this, but if you know basic actionscript i should be able to explain.
    JR

  4. #3
    cgf
    cgf is offline
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    16
    Member #
    758
    Thanks for replying!!!
    Sorry dude....

    I have no idea..... I am a complete beginner at this!!!!
    Happy go lucky!!!

  5. #4
    JR
    JR is offline
    Senior Member JR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,354
    Member #
    257
    right i will tell you how to create the 'skip intro' link...

    1. Add Some Text

    2. Press F8, and check button and click ok

    3. Select the button and click on the open up the actions box, if it is not open go to windows --> actions or press F2

    4. There should be a plus sign, click this and then go to actions --> browser/network --> getURL

    5. Three boxes should come up, URL will be the page you want it to go to eg. http://www.whatever.com

    window is the same as target in html so if you want the link in the same window it will be _self, leave variables as it is

    6. You're Done, test it - if you have any problems with this i will reply, if not i will help you with a preloader.
    JR

  6. #5
    JR
    JR is offline
    Senior Member JR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,354
    Member #
    257
    also after you have changed it to a button, if you double click it you can change the mouseover state etc.
    JR

  7. #6
    cgf
    cgf is offline
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    16
    Member #
    758
    So far so good

    Cheers for this….

    Right I have created the skip intro…. What do I save it as or do export it..?…

    Sorry Dude, but If I save it do I chose the insert flash icon in Dreamweaver… And finally when I upload the index page with this on what files will I need to upload with it….

    Sorry about this…..
    Happy go lucky!!!

  8. #7
    JR
    JR is offline
    Senior Member JR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,354
    Member #
    257
    sorry for not replying...

    i fell asleep! lol

    if you want to export it as a web page go to publish settings.. then make sure flash (.swf) and HTML (.html) boxes are checked, then upload these.

    do you still want to know about a simple preloader?
    JR

  9. #8
    cgf
    cgf is offline
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    16
    Member #
    758
    Thanks for comming back...

    Yeah I would still like to know abot the preloader.... First though would I export would I not save it and insert it...

    Cheers
    Happy go lucky!!!

  10. #9
    JR
    JR is offline
    Senior Member JR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,354
    Member #
    257
    yes save as a .fla normally then publish it, it will make the html code, then if you want to put it into a page that you have already made just paste the code.
    JR

  11. #10
    JR
    JR is offline
    Senior Member JR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,354
    Member #
    257
    ok to know a simple preloader you will have to use keyframes and a bit of action code...

    Are you familiar with creating keyframes and the timeline?
    JR


Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:42 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com