Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hello,

I was wondering how one might go about creating spinning objects in Flash MX. For example, I have a cube on my header that I want to spin slowly. Also, how could I create it so that my flash animation blends in with the rest of the html site?? Like, I want the cube part to be in flash, while the rest of the header is in HTML. Can I just take the image of the cube, upload it in Flash, and make the Background transparent? Thanks alot for your help, Im a novice when it comes to Flash
    --Kevin
    --Kevin
    15" MacBook Pro With: Mac OSX 10.4.11(Tiger) 1440x900 Windows XP SP2 3GB RAM 1TB HDD
    kevind_2007--"Never let the fear of striking out get in your way."--Babe Ruth

Links:Firefox Download||Google|| HTML Help||DHTML|| Web Design Terminology||Good-Tutorials

Member #
    Personally, if I wanted a spinning cube, I would make it in Swift 3D, a great 3D tool specifically built with Flash in mind. This would simply involve throwing a surface on a cube, then applying the animation. However, if you don't have this, you have a couple options.

The first being using tween in Flash itself. I remeber when I was first learning Flash, I got all excited when I could finally spin a flat plane or so around by shrinking it, then exapanding it. That would be close to the same approach. This option would be tricky if the cube were off center, or the axis of spin is not horizontal or vertical. It could be done, but would take some time getting everything right.