Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    I'm a flash newbie by all accounts...but I have a 30 second radio ad in mp3 format that I want visitors to be able to play when they click on my image. I have followed this tutorial:

http://www.flash-here.com/tutorials/...lay_sound.html

I didn't follow step four and the "play button" that they tell you to make in step "three" is a button that says "hear our radio ad" and I changed the Loop from 10 to 1 because I only want it to play once...those are the only changes I've made. The whole thing works great.

Here is my question:

The action script in this tutorial starts the sound on release. Problem is that if someone clicks and releases the button multiple times, it will start the clip each time and play it over itself. It works this way in their demo too. You can click it multiple times and hear the jarbled mess you end up with. There must be a way to do this so it only plays once...so who can tell me what to do?

Member #
    One way you could do it is create a boolean variable and when they click on the button set the variable to true (meaning the sound clip is playing).

Your logic will be something like this

Code:
    var playing = false; /* have this outside of the button click */

/* Then in the on(release) event of the start button have something like the below */

on(release)
       {
          if(playing == false)
          {
              /* start the clip here */
              _root.snd.start(0,1);
              playing = true;
          }
       }

/* Then in the on(release) event of the stop button have something like this

on(release)
       {
          if(playing == true)
          {
              _root.snd.stop();
              playing = false;
          }
       }

Member #