Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    I am very new to SWF and have to work with inherited code. So I have been given a .swf file and the relevant JavaScript functions that can read write to the swf file. I was also given the relevant html code where I used the object and embed tags.

The code works fine as stand alone and I am able to read write values to the .sol file created on the client side. This works in all browsers I need. IE/FF/Chrome. All this is running in a html/JavaScript website deployed on Tomcat 6.0

So I take the above html/js/swf and integrate this with my J2EE app and JSP website and this is when it breaks. Now when I invoke the html, the page loads fine but the .sol file is not getting generated on the client side. I do see the folder "Application Data\Macromedia\Flash Player\#SharedObjects\QH7QGNRU" but not .sol file inside it as per the domain.

Here comes the twist. This problem only happens in IE8 and not in FF or Chrome.
    So as a stand alone app and also integrated with my J2EE app the swf/sol works fine in FF and Chrome. However in IE it fails in the J2EE deployment. I have already done a trace with Fiddler and found no anomalies.

Can you guys shed some light as to why the shared objects folder structure is getting created but the .sol is not.

Thanks a bunch.

Member #
    I forgot to add the complete environment details.
    Windows XP
    Shockwave 10.0.32
    IE 8, FF 6, Chrome 13
    Tomcat 6.0

Member #
    Liked
    770 times
    Security settings on ie8, client side writing when in IE is almost always a security issue.