Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Junior Member SILO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    11
    Member #
    2646
    Ok, I dont have an example up yet, so ill try and explain it the best i can.
    On the overstate of a button, i want an info Blip somwhere else on the page.
    ::for example if i have a horizontal nav bar at the top of my page, and you move over a button, the info blip is higher than the buttons but right in the middle or where ever else i may want it, basicly I dont want the info blip right on the button or part of the button itself.
    Any help is great.
    thanks in advance.
    c:\format c:

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member james's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    364
    Member #
    1352
    Try
    Code:
    <script language="JavaScript">
    function ShowInfo(info) {
      document.getElementById('InfoBlip').innerHTML = info;
    }
    </script>
    ...
    <body>
    ...
    <div id="InfoBlip"></div>
    ...
    <table id="NavBar">
    ...
    <a href="somewhere.html" onMouseOver="javascript:ShowInfo('This goes somewhere');"
      onMouseOut="javascript:ShowInfo('');">Somewhere</a>
    ...
    </body>
    So, you just insert the javascript function into the head of your page; add the onMouseOver and onMouseOut to the NavBar links; and give the id to the element holding the 'info blip' as you call it.

    Nice avatar.
    James H
    Home Page · Mars Page · www.fihsf1.net (formerly www·fihs·net)

  4. #3
    Senior Member james's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    364
    Member #
    1352
    Don't forget to take out the space between the java & script.
    James H
    Home Page · Mars Page · www.fihsf1.net (formerly www·fihs·net)

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    46
    Member #
    2985
    How about something like this.....

  6. #5
    Senior Member james's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    364
    Member #
    1352
    D'oh, it's a flash Q! I don't know anything about flash.
    James H
    Home Page · Mars Page · www.fihsf1.net (formerly www·fihs·net)

  7. #6
    Junior Member SILO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    11
    Member #
    2646
    go here, and then mouse over the symbol links, i found what i am looking for.
    http://www.aperfectcircle.com
    the words pop up on the overstate.
    c:\format c:

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    46
    Member #
    2985
    SILO - Are you all set now, or are you looking for info on how to do the overstate like the web-page you pointed to?

    If your still looking for assistance, this shouldn't be too difficult to do in Flash. I believe all you would need to use is a Text Box and Buttons. Then on the Buttons mouseover handler just have whatever text it is that you want to show up in the Text box. If you want I should be able to whip up an example.

  9. #8
    Junior Member SILO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    11
    Member #
    2646
    Its ok about the example.
    That was the end way I was originaly thing about going, I just wan't sure if there was a different way. But thanks for the offer.
    c:\format c:


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:40 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com