Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    81
    Member #
    4576
    How can i make the white areas on my jpgs in Flash transparent (allowing me to overlay one jpg onto another) like using the 'multiply' layer feature in Photoshop.

    I cant see how to do it in Flash

    Please help! thanks in advance. im working on www.bof-uk.com today.

    Geraint

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Brak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    3,413
    Member #
    1217
    Liked
    2 times
    Save them from photoshop as .png and import them into flash that way. Probably some better ways to do it as well...
    Kyle Neath: Rockstar extraordinare
    The blog | The poetry site | The Spore site

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    81
    Member #
    4576
    oh cheers mate, LIFESAVER!

    how are we supposed to know these things? i looked everywhere in the help and manuals but couldnt find it!
    Thanks again

    Ger

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    81
    Member #
    4576
    seems as though i spoke too soon :S

    my image still has a white surround. How do i get rid of this?

    Ger

  6. #5
    Senior Member Brak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    3,413
    Member #
    1217
    Liked
    2 times
    Make sure when you save from photoshop it's transparent (not white) where you want it to be transparent, and be sure to save with transparency (might be better off using Save for Web Feature)
    Kyle Neath: Rockstar extraordinare
    The blog | The poetry site | The Spore site

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    81
    Member #
    4576
    thanks! when i saved it as a jpg i made sure it was transparent in photoshop, but when i tried doing PNG, i got so wrapped up in using it in flash i forgot to save it with a transparent background.

    it works now
    Thanks!

    Ger

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    81
    Member #
    4576
    there seems to be a big downside to this,

    i am unable to fade them in using alpha tint. could someone enlighten me?

    thanks

    Ger

  9. #8
    Senior Member Elroy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    206
    Member #
    4513
    You can also do that with gif format.

    Anyway, if you want to do alpha fade in, the image should work as a "graphic" symbol in flash (or maybe "movieClip").

    .
    Underconstruction
    Volleyball Website

  10. #9
    Senior Member gabe89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    137
    Member #
    3412
    always use movieClips instead of graphic symbols

    (don't know why but it's just a general rule of thumb)

  11. #10
    Senior Member Elroy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    206
    Member #
    4513
    Originally posted by gabe89
    always use movieClips instead of graphic symbols

    (don't know why but it's just a general rule of thumb)
    Now please explain that!!!
    Underconstruction
    Volleyball Website


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:55 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com