Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    81
    Member #
    4576
    Im into scene seven of my movie, and suddenly, the text is behaving very strangely...

    ...It wont alpha fade in and out when i preview the scene, or publish the movie, and instead of looking smooth like the actual font, it looks more blocky and single-pixelled.

    I have tried messing about with settings, but cant get to the bottom of why my text is behaving so strangely.!!! please help me

    or even have a look at my .fla file for me.

    Thanks in advance!
    HELP!

    Ger

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member DesignBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    340
    Member #
    5659
    http://www.webdesignforums.net/showthread.php?t=13678
    is this your problem?

    Your text should be Static not Dynamic

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    81
    Member #
    4576
    thanks for your advice, it was set to static though....
    I think i have found a way around it, if i break the text appart twice (modify, break appart) then it becomes a vector graphic. And then it plays properly.

    But this is a crude workaround, i still dont know why it was behaving like that...?

    Any other ideas?
    Ger

  5. #4
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    Ger,

    It's definitely the static / dynamic issue. Static text is treated as vector art, whereas dynamic is treated as system text. If you create it as static, it gets converted to vector art at compilation of the swf.

    An easy way to check if it's dynamic is to try to highlight the text with your mouse. If you can select it, it's dynamic text. If not, it's static.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    241
    Member #
    5465
    You might wanna find a different way around fixing the text besides breaking it apart. I believe that breaking it apart like that greatly increases file size.

  7. #6
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    Quote Originally Posted by minger
    You might wanna find a different way around fixing the text besides breaking it apart. I believe that breaking it apart like that greatly increases file size.
    Good point! Only reason to break up text is if you're shape tweening it.

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    241
    Member #
    5465
    or if you wanna apply a stroke to it using the ink dropper tool i believe its called

  9. #8
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    Good point

  10. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    81
    Member #
    4576
    ive noticed it seems t only happen with text which i create on the stage, then drag into the library.
    if i create text straight into the library as a symbol, i THINK it works ok.....
    ive checked and its definatley set to 'static'
    Ger


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:18 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com