Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    61
    Member #
    7339
    Hi,

    i want a tween that makes a thin line go longer. I tried the usual way, but when i scale it, the line gets longer but also thicker, but i dont want it thicker.

    How do i do this?

    tia,

    Matt

  2.  

  3. #2
    Member FrogOnTop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    50
    Member #
    6635
    Well if the line is hairline in width, it won't grow in width, but if it's 1 point, 2 points or larger it will grow. the only other way to do it is dynamically using actionscript, which is a door that you might not want to open right now...

    So solution would be, make the line "hairline" from the dropdown
    Visit me at www.frogontop.com

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    61
    Member #
    7339
    ok thanks, i knew it was something small i was missing ;-)

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    241
    Member #
    5465
    the easier way would be to use a rectangle insatead of a line. When you create the rectangle, just make the height 1. I find using rectangles is a lot easier than lines. But then, after you make the rectangle, just stretch it the way you want it, you dont have to actually scale it.

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    61
    Member #
    7339
    euhm, when i scale the rectangle the lines also grow thicker :-(

  7. #6
    Member FrogOnTop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    50
    Member #
    6635
    Hairline... use hairline on the rectangle
    Visit me at www.frogontop.com

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    61
    Member #
    7339
    of course, but minger said height=1.
    If u need to use hairline anyway, you can use as well the line-tool for a line instead of the rectangle tool for a line.

  9. #8
    DJA
    DJA is offline
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    9
    Member #
    7843
    why dont u just do it frame by frame if its not that big an animation

  10. #9
    Senior Member raspberryh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Erie, PA
    Posts
    882
    Member #
    7208
    Liked
    1 times
    or you can do a shape tween (instead of motion tween) on the line, so you can make the line longer, but the same width.
    choosy developers choose gif!
    website | paintings | blog

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    241
    Member #
    5465
    Quote Originally Posted by killerwhale65
    euhm, when i scale the rectangle the lines also grow thicker :-(
    I think the problem is that you are "scaling" it. All you need to do is resize it. So, just to make sure you got it, I have attached a .swf and .fla for you to look at. As you'll notice, the symbol is just a rectangle with no stroke, 100 x 1 pixels.


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:53 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com