Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    61
    Member #
    7339
    Hi,

    i have the following situation:
    2 frames. On frame 1 (stop()) is a movieclip that lasts around 50 frames. At the end that movieclip stops. At that point i would like to go to the second frame of level 0. How can i do that?

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    241
    Member #
    5465
    on your last frame in your movie clip, just add the gotoandPlay actionscript, I believe all you have to do to make it change the main timeline is add _root to it. So....on the last frame in your movie clip
    _root.gotoandPlay(2);

  4. #3
    Member FrogOnTop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    50
    Member #
    6635
    I wouldn't use the _root call, instead I would make all your calls relative so use _parent instead, and if it is nested inside yet another clip, use _parent._parent. It's a good habit to get out of using _root, especially if you are delaling with loaded movie clips, try to do everything relative as opposed to absolute.
    Visit me at www.frogontop.com

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    61
    Member #
    7339
    ok that does it
    didnt know about the _root. thing.
    thanks!

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    61
    Member #
    7339
    Frogontop, can ou please explain what you mean by that? WHere should i use _parent? Just instead of _root or something else?

    thanks

  7. #6
    Member FrogOnTop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    50
    Member #
    6635
    Ok let's say your movie clip is on the main timeline

    (maintimeline) has movieClipA on it.
    to control the maintimeline you can use the following commands from within movieClipA.

    _root.gotoAndPlay(2);

    or

    _parent.gotoAndPlay(2);

    Ok then use this as a scenerio:
    maintimeline has movieClipA on it. In movieClipA there is movieClipB.

    To control the maintimeline from movieClipB you can use one of the following codes:

    _root.gotoAndPlay (2);

    or

    _parent._parent.gotoAndPlay (2);

    To control movieClipA from movieClipB you need to make sure movieClipA has an instance name applied to it, for ours we will use clipA.

    _root.clipA.gotoAndPlay (2);

    or

    _parent.gotoAndPlay (2);

    You follow? so essentially _root and _parent are just identifiers for where to send the calls to.
    _root will always got to the most base movie, and is an absolute call. WHich can pose problems if your movie is loaded into another movie, where as using _parent is relative to position, so locations will not change.
    Visit me at www.frogontop.com

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    61
    Member #
    7339
    ah ok i have it. So parent always goes one step higher, while root always goes to the top.
    thanks i will learn it that way!

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    61
    Member #
    7339
    PS: you have a cool froggy website ;-)


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:13 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com