Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    43
    Member #
    985
    Can someone give me advice so that my roll over images are faster.
    Check out the site:

    www.lindseymarshall.net

    lmarshall

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    What you need to do is preload the images so they are downloaded as the page loads and are already cached when they're requested (i.e., when they're rolled over).

    Try this:
    [searchwdf]preload[/searchwdf]
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  4. #3
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,483
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2783 times
    The only other thing I'd like to add is that you should make sure the rollover images are loaded after the page itself is loaded; otherwise, the rest of your page won't load while the rollover images download. This, particularly on dialup, slows a site down immensely.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    43
    Member #
    985
    how do you do that?

  6. #5
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    This should work:
    Code:
    <html>
      <head>
        <script language="javascript">
          function preloadImages() {
            img1 = new Image();
            img1.src = 'http://www.lindseymarshall.net/sweblink2.jpg';
            img2 = new Image();
            img2.src = 'http://www.lindseymarshall.net/sreslink2.jpg';
            img3 = new Image();
            img3.src = 'http://www.lindseymarshall.net/saboutlink2.jpg';
            img4 = new Image();
            img4.src = 'http://www.lindseymarshall.net/scontactlink2.jpg';
            img5 = new Image();
            img5.src = 'http://www.lindseymarshall.net/shomelink2.jpg';
          }
        </script>
      </head>
      <body onload="preloadImages();">
        Put your content here.
      </body>
    </html>

  7. #6
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    By the way:
    Unfortunately the About Me page [is] temporarily under constuction due to lack of content
    LOL!!!!!

    That gave me a serious laugh. Thanks

    EDIT: I don't mean that in a mean way. Most people tend to take what I say the wrong way. The way it's stated just sounds really funny. It has the duplicity where you're not sure if you're saying that there's no content for the page, or if your life doesn't have sufficient content to make a page about you. It's just cute


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:13 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2020 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com