Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: GetURL

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    194
    Member #
    2782
    Hi everyone,
    It has been a monumental occasion for me: I have upgraded from Flash 5 to 8. :classic: So I have been trying to adjust to the new environment and don't understand how the geturl works here...

    Here is my problem:
    I am creating an intro for a client. There is a skip intro button that would need to get the main.html page when pressed. I have on the button the following action:
    on(release) {
    getURL(main.html);
    }

    Also, when the intro finishes its run, it should automatically go to the main.html page. I have on a separate blank layer a keyframe at the end with the following action:
    getURL(main.html);

    Both pull up an HTTP404 page with the following URL in the address bar:
    http://www.website.com/undefined

    How can I fix this?

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,354
    Member #
    1326
    Now, i am no flash expert, but to me, as main.html is a string of text, perhaps it should be in quotes?

    Something like
    Code:
    on(release) {
    getURL('main.html');
    }
    And
    Code:
    getURL('main.html');
    I am pretty sure thats right, because the error message is basically saying "dude, where is this main.html variable you speak of?"

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    194
    Member #
    2782
    Ahh.... excellent. I guess I overlooked it since F5 used to automatically put it there for you and F8 doesn't.

    Thanks.

  5. #4
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    Off-topic... since you're upgrading, you should really look at Flash 9 + Actionscript 3... it's a totally new architecture, and is FREAKING AMAZING.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:22 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com