Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hi Everyone I am new and this is my first thread so excuse my etiquette if I have made any mistakes whilst posting.
    I have been using this tutorial for ideas and being a newbie I am stuck.
    This is the link and I am stuck about a third of the way down where it asks me to make triangular selection on the banner.
    http://www.webdesign.org/web/photosh...ate.16864.html
    How do I do this?
    Thanks for all your help.
    Alan.

Member #
    The easiest way would be to do this:

In the layers panel, CTRL-click (or CMD-click if you're on a Mac) the layer thumbnail of the rounded rectangle to make it a selection.

You should see the marching ants traveling around your rounded rectangle.

Now select the polygon lasso tool and choose the "Intersect with Selection" button which is the last of the four selection buttons in the polygon lasso toolbar. Use the polygon lasso tool to draw the triangle and you should be left with your triangular selection.

Member #
    To further clarify, when using the polygon lasso tool to make an intersecting selection, what you are doing is saying:

I like what I have selected, but I only want part of it...so I am going to use this polygon lasso tool to show you, oh photoshop, what part of the selection I want to keep.

Therefore, you can select well beyond the limits of the rounded rectangle selection all except for the hypotenuse of the triangle which should be in it's proper location. Everything that is part of the current selection that ends up within the polygon, will remain. Photoshop will ignore everything else.

Member #