Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    Hi all. My first visit here! Looks great!

Anyway, I've been using Photoshop off and on for a few years now. I'm eluded by two things that I always want to do, but am stuck doing the hard way. Any suggestions on what an easier way would be would be greatly appreciated!

Trick #1: Fill a shape with background horizontal or vertical lines. I'm assuming there is an easy fill or brush, but I cant find it. So I'm stuck manually creating all of the lines when I do this sort of thing.

Example: http://www.webdesignforums.net/attac...=&postid=74408

Trick #2: Create nice looking boxes that have perfectly cut off edges. In the example attachment this is what I currently do: Draw the red square. Select another square on another layer. Rotate that at 45% and fill it white. Place white square (now diamond) so it effectively crops off the red box. Merge layers. Select the red with the Wand tool, contract, delete. There has to be a simpler way, doesn't there? I find myself doing this all of the time.

Thanks for any advice!

Andrew
    Attached Images Attached Images

JR
    Member #
    Point 1 - Draw the lines on a blank canvas then go to edit --> define pattern. Then go to the fill tool and in the drop down menu in the properties window select pattern. Then there is a palette to select the pattern you made.

Point 2 - Draw a square box using the rectangle marquee tool. Then use the polyganal lasso tool and cut half of the box off. Cut that off the existing box and clean it up by using the rectangular marquee tool set to 1px by 1px.
    JR

Member #
    Can you explain what you mean when you say:

>> and clean it up by using the rectangular
    >> marquee tool set to 1px by 1px.

??

Member #
    Liked