Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree15Likes

Thread: what software coding language was used to build these websites?

Member #
    Liked
    1 times

what software coding language was used to build these websites?

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to web design and I'm trying to learn the basics and build up my skill set, what software/programming language should I begin with? I'm interested in developing websites similar to these:

https://theintercept.com/drone-papers/

Cut4.me

hoping this isn't a lame post for y'all. Any 411/wisdom you guys have to share would be sup helpful

Thanks in Advance!

Member #
    Liked
    296 times
    What have you learned so far? It's hard to answer if we don't know your starting point.

Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    Hey Delstu,

Thanks for the reply!

I'm a total beginner. I have some experience using dreamweaver and processing but really I would just not even count that. I want to sort of just layout a plan of what to learn beginning to end. Hopefully to be capable of building websites to the degree of the examples I provided!

Member #
    Liked
    296 times
    HTML and CSS would be your starting point, then javascript. Later you would want to pick up two more programming language - preferences vary, but you will need one that will work with databases (PHP or ASP). By the time you get this far you may have an idea of another programming language to learn such as Object Oriented Programming, Python, Ruby, or another of several possibilities.

From a marketing standpoint I hate the examples you provided but you have time to learn along the way.
    TheGAME1264 likes this.

Banned
    Member #
    Liked
    7 times