Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #

Help with school work - Short Questionnaire about Stock Content Websites

Hi there, could you please find a minute or two to fill out this questionnaire? I am a high-school student with interest in graphic design/photography and the subject of my school assignment are stock content websites and their commercial use by professionals in design, media, advertising. I am looking for insights about how these websites are used, if paid or free websites are preferred, what are their strengths/weaknesses, etc. Your help would be really appreciated! Thank you very much in advance!

http://goo.gl/forms/xslgyNfGxW

Member #
    Liked
    545 times
    Done, but I would like to add somethings. One, as a designer I like to create all the visuals myself. This includes taking the photographs. You as a photographer know that photos tell stories, and while you may find a stock photo that is very close to what you want, its almost impossible. Then you have to consider that the "good" photos are usually overused by everyone making it less effective. So I hardly use stock photography, unless its for something that I personally have no means of taking a photo.

I also despise the fact that we have no guarantee that the person who uploaded the image has the rights to allow us to use it. For that reason alone I avoid free stock photos. I know it doesn't completely protect me from the issue but it makes me a little more comfortable.

I know you left a space for me to "rant" so to speak on your form, but I am on mobile and it was impossible to keep up with what I was writing because of how small the input window was.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Member #
    Liked
    2795 times