Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    So here I am, minding my own darn business, when I get a great idea for my personal site. She-bam, it's the best thing I've ever created. So I slice-and-dice (for the first time, so I feel all proud and junk), slap a couple columns of lorem ipsum in there, and come up with this: http://www.designdaisy.com/test/index.htm

Great! Rollovers and all, too!

Well, thank God I've got half a brain left after coding, and I try to add more text. And what d'ya know, this happens: http://www.designdaisy.com/test/index2.htm

AHHHHHHHH! Okay, I know I'm a newbie with this slice-and-dice, but what could I POSSIBLY have done wrong?!

Images are at:
    http://www.designdaisy.com/test/images/frostbyte.png (layout)
    http://www.designdaisy.com/test/images/title.jpg (repeating 'bg' across the top)

Stylesheet (just in case):
    http://www.designdaisy.com/test/fbstyle.css

All the other images are slices of frostbyte.png. Someone please tell me why I'm such an idiot and how to stop being such an idiot.

Also...my rollovers add a blue background to the pre-existing text. But, to me, it seems like it takes forever to load. It's not smooth and liquid, it's jerky and annoying. Does anyone know how to fix that?

Member #
    Hey Katie, I'd flatten the image and use dreamweaver for the mouseover effects and the links. Put your navigation into nested tables and that will prevent them from shifting down when you get text that expands past the end of the links nav. Also, I'd "preload" my rollovers and this will fix your delay in the ltblue over state. I've had this problem with FW<-->DW conversions as well and this was my workaround.