Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Ok, heres the thing:
    I am a PHP programmer, but suck at graphics and want to start to learn how to do good graphics/templates.
    Anyways, I was wondering... lets say I have a template made, or I downloaded a template. It is made to cover the browser screen....
    Now if I add some actual data to the template.... and it goes below the screen.. wont it all mess up? Because photshop doesnt put the columns of the template (such as left menu, top menu, etc) into its own table.. and thus doesnt do a BACKGROUND="color"...
    Does that have to be manually made?
    Like for example, go get a free template. You will see that they are designed to fit in the page when viewed in a browser, yes, but if you add data to it by making the image the background of the TD and then add text that scrolls below the basic screen, wont that just go over a white area and off the template?
    Yes, I know its kind of confusing.. but I dont know how to explain!

Member #
    Rather than adding content into the template through Photoshop (which I assume you are trying to do) you would edit the HTML code (an HTML version is usually included by and good template site)

The HTML code would use a small image and repeat it vertically to make it seem like the template has expanded to hold the content.

If any of this is unclear, I think others can help explain it for you.

[Li] Brad
    "Art strives for form, and hopes for beauty." - George Bellows

Member #
    I guess I understand what you're saying, but I want to make my own template that works like that....

And also, how can I put text in photshop and tell it to make it html not an actual image...

And also, whats the deal with all the fonts that templates come with?

Member #