Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: progress bar

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    5
    Member #
    5879
    i have made my progress bar in a movie clip... i added the codes to it... how do i load it into my swf so it will work ? or is there an easier way to do my progress bar so it will load in my swf?

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Aleister's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    250
    Member #
    2329
    You might get more responses in the 'Graphics and Flash' category. I would help but I have not messed around with flash too much

    This might help, just one of the first links I saw in a search: http://development.gurusnetwork.com/...bar_preloader/
    The Temple of Dagon | Dagon Design
    "That is not dead which can eternal lie, And with strange aeons even death may die." - HPL

  4. #3
    Senior Member splufdaddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,488
    Member #
    735
    Moved.

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    241
    Member #
    5465
    I assume your talking about a preloader? I usually add a seperate scene for the preloader then add the code directly on the main timeline. I'm not sure if this is the "right" way to do it, but that's how I go about it. but, you don't load it into your .swf its a part of the file itself.

    maybe if you could clarify just a tad i could help you out some more.

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    5
    Member #
    5879
    thanks guys... well minger ... its been awhile since i checked my post ... well i made it into another movie script so i can load it when i put the codes into the main time line... but i dont know what codes to put down... i have tried load movie ... that makes the most sense to me... if you can help in anyway thanks alot... and thanks both of you for the help ...

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    241
    Member #
    5465
    here is pretty much the just of a preloader. i usually put a seperate scene in. on the second frame you have: gotoandPlay(1);
    then on the first frame you have something like this:
    total = _root.getBytesTotal();
    loaded = _root.getBytesLoaded();
    perc = loaded/total
    perc2 = perc*100
    if (loaded >= total) {
    gotoandPlay("Scene2")
    }

    Now, if you want a numerical representation, you add dynamic text and make the variable _root.perc2

    If you want the graphical (i.e. the loader bar your talking about) first you make a movie clip that is 1 pixel wide and position it at x=0 (inside the movies stage, not the main stage) it is kinda important to position it at 0 and not centered, which would be x=0.5

    Now you put it on your main stage and in the first frame add something like:
    _root.loadbar(<-whatever instance name of that 1 pixel wide movie clip)._width = perc*100
    You can replace 100 by whatever number you want it to "grow" to

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    5
    Member #
    5879
    thanks a bunch

    you are a huge help... many thanks

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    241
    Member #
    5465
    I think preloaders can be the most creative part of a movie. Experiment with masks and other things. ._width can be replaced with height or any other attribute for some interesting effects.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:48 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com