Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Member alingham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    32
    Member #
    5673
    Hi

    Hopefully some of the more experienced people out there can give me a hint on what the problem is.

    The site is www.alingham.cjb.net

    The problem:
    Locally, when I test this site in IE, it works fine. Plays the code and works exactly how it should. Last night I uploaded it onto the sever however, opened it in IE and it doesn't work at all.

    Similarly, I then tested it LOCALLY with Mozilla. And it has the same problem as the online IE. And still the same problem online with Mozilla as IE. Basically, the only one that works is locally with IE.

    It doesn't seem to be the flash player version, as I have installed flash player 6 onto Mozilla (previously I had 7) and still the same problem.

    I did most of the code at school on Flash MX (Flash Player 6). However, the final stages were done, including publishing, on Flash MX 2004 (Flash Player 7) When I did the preview on MX, there were no errors saying (This may cause your computer to become unresponsive...) However, when I previewed in MX 2004, this message did pop up. Once I opened the swf files from their location however, no problems with the code....


    What is meant to happen:

    The Main movie loads in 6 or 7 different movies into separate levels. These all have a simple preloader in them which returns a _global.variable back to the main movie.

    The rest of the movie plays, loads up some text from a txt file, and then loads the buttons. This is where I think the code stuffs up.

    The 7 buttons that tell the loaded movies to play, are in a loop, where if the _global.variable is not true, (ie. the movie hasn't been loaded) then the buttons do not display. (This is so that the people don't end up looking at an empty screen waiting for a movie to load because they clicked on a button...) Once the movie has loaded, and the _global.variable is set to 1 (true) then the buttons display.

    Sounds logical to me, but the internet is having real problems with it.

    If ANYONE knows how to fix this, or has had experiences with the same thing happening...PLEASE POST A REPLY ASAP!!!

    Cheers guys.

    (I have the working code...so if you need it to understand futher what is happeneing, I will post it (I just don't have it on me right now....Library computer....)

  2.  

  3. #2
    Member alingham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    32
    Member #
    5673
    I'm now thinking its something to do with this if statement and the stop action in it.

    What I need is an if statement that checks several states, and if one statement is met, it continues to check the other statements untill all statments are met.

    In the code below, I've used 1 as "true", 0 as "false". Was having a bit of difficulty getting the true and false to work properly, so have just converted into numbers....

    Frame "AllUp" is the next frame which just says go to and Play this frame. All Actions are on the frame.

    Here is the code:
    ================================================== =============
    // If the Movie is Loaded, display the button, otherwise
    // If Movie isn't loaded, set the button to invisible
    // So that the visitor can't go to the page until it is loaded
    // ===========================================
    // Main
    if (_global.mainLoaded == 1) {
    setProperty(mainbtn, _visible, true);
    setProperty(maincover, _visible, false);
    stop();
    } else {
    setProperty(mainbtn, _visible, false);
    setProperty(maincover, _visible, true);
    gotoAndPlay("AllUp");
    }
    // ===========================================
    // Bio
    if (_global.bioLoaded == 1) {
    setProperty(biobtn, _visible, true);
    setProperty(biocover, _visible, false);
    stop();
    } else {
    setProperty(biobtn, _visible, false);
    setProperty(biocover, _visible, true);
    gotoAndPlay("AllUp");
    }
    // ===========================================
    // Art
    if (_global.artLoaded == 1) {
    setProperty(_root.artbtn, _visible, true);
    setProperty(_root.artcover, _visible, false);
    stop();
    } else {
    setProperty(_root.artbtn, _visible, false);
    setProperty(_root.artcover, _visible, true);
    gotoAndPlay("AllUp");
    }
    // ===========================================
    // Poetry
    if (_global.poetryLoaded == 1) {
    setProperty(_root.poetrybtn, _visible, true);
    setProperty(_root.poetrycover, _visible, false);
    stop();
    } else {
    setProperty(_root.poetrybtn, _visible, false);
    setProperty(_root.poetrycover, _visible, true);
    gotoAndPlay("AllUp");
    }
    // ===========================================
    // Music
    if (_global.musicLoaded == 1) {
    setProperty(_root.musicbtn, _visible, true);
    setProperty(_root.musiccover, _visible, false);
    stop();
    } else {
    setProperty(_root.musicbtn, _visible, false);
    setProperty(_root.musiccover, _visible, true);
    gotoAndPlay("AllUp");
    }
    // ===========================================
    // Web Design
    if (_global.webLoaded == 1) {
    setProperty(_root.webbtn, _visible, true);
    setProperty(_root.webcover, _visible, false);
    stop();
    } else {
    setProperty(_root.webbtn, _visible, false);
    setProperty(_root.webcover, _visible, true);
    gotoAndPlay("AllUp");
    }
    // ===========================================
    // Links
    if (_global.linksLoaded == 1) {
    setProperty(_root.linksbtn, _visible, true);
    setProperty(_root.linkscover, _visible, false);
    stop();
    } else {
    setProperty(_root.linksbtn, _visible, false);
    setProperty(_root.linkscover, _visible, true);
    gotoAndPlay("AllUp");
    }
    ================================================== ==============

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    81
    Member #
    4576
    whats with the double equals signs? '=='

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    81
    Member #
    4576
    should that read:
    if (_global.mainLoaded = '1')

    or:

    if (_global.mainLoaded == true)

    maybe?

  6. #5
    Senior Member ironhacker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    872
    Member #
    3483
    Liked
    1 times
    The site is very nice, but it makes an error in the script. I'm running flash 7. Fix it.

  7. #6
    Member alingham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    32
    Member #
    5673
    Quote Originally Posted by Ger-Lewis
    should that read:
    if (_global.mainLoaded = '1')

    or:

    if (_global.mainLoaded == true)

    maybe?
    The double equals sign is "set to" - ie. if mainLoaded is "set to" 1...

    The reason I crushed out the true and false statements, is because whenever I tried to say: if mainLoaeded = true, it would set the variable mainLoaded to true. SO even if I set it as false, whenever it came through it would change it to true.

    Thats why I used 1's and 0's.

    Secondly, "1" implies that the value is a string, which when set in the variables it is not. Numbers can be numbers or strings, I've decided to just use them as numbers, rather than having to worry about any mix up between the two on Flash's part.

    Thirdly, in response to this...
    Quote Originally Posted by ironhacker
    The site is very nice, but it makes an error in the script. I'm running flash 7. Fix it.
    Um....I know it doesn't work....

    That is why I posted a question to see if anyone knows WHY it doesn't work. Read the first one and it will explain that it works locally in IE, but not remotely...So I don't know why the code doesn't work, so untill I find out why it doesn't work, I can't fix it.

    OK!?

    Gee - read the question before you tell me what to do. I don't know everything to do with Flash, but it seems like I know a lot more than most people who use Flash do...

  8. #7
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,485
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2783 times
    First of all, alingham, that tone isn't necessary. Although ironhacker should have read the post to see the whole problem, there was no need to drag out the point after you made it.

    Anyway...on to your issue. I'm not a flash expert by any means, but there are two things you can do that may solve it. One way is direct, the other indirect:
    1. Either comment out or remove the equals signs at the top and bottom of your ActionScript. I'm not sure if you put those in as part of the post or not, but it may well be what's throwing the whole thing off.
    2. If that doesn't work, try exporting your movie, checking "Debugging Permitted" and selecting a password. Then upload the movie and use the password to try to debug it. Alternatively, you can create a link here, get us to look at it, and someone here may be able to debug it.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

  9. #8
    Member alingham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    32
    Member #
    5673
    Sorry
    Just a bit simplistic in telling me what to do. Not any help.
    Anyway,

    The equals at the top were just for the post.

    Secondly, I have tried this debugging thing. The problem is, that the movie wont even load up properly, and so even before you get to the debugging stage, it says the script wont work, and therefore locks up the flash movie, and therefore the debugger, if you know what I mean...

  10. #9
    Member alingham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    32
    Member #
    5673
    Finally found the problem - I think...will finally test it out tonight.

    If any of you want to test it for yourselves, the link is


    http://www.alingham.cjb.net

  11. #10
    Member alingham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    32
    Member #
    5673
    Um - Actually, new problem has occurred all together. HELP !!!!!


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:25 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com