Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

View Poll Results: Do you own a Mac?

Voters
28. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, running OS X, and I use it all the time

    6 21.43%
  • Yes, running OS X, but I only use it occasionally

    2 7.14%
  • Yes, running OS X, but I virtually never use it

    0 0%
  • Yes, but not running OS X

    1 3.57%
  • No but I'm thinking of getting/will get one

    11 39.29%
  • No with no plans to get one

    8 28.57%
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    ...and comment, if you wish. This is for figuring out whether I'll develop a new WDF feature.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member DanielOliver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Cornwall, England.
    Posts
    1,202
    Member #
    1879
    I'm using OS X Tiger 10.4.3 if that helps?

  4. #3
    Senior Member glyakk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,263
    Member #
    3828
    Liked
    6 times
    I am about to buy another laptop and and I am HIGHLY considering a Macbook pro. It still amazes me the shoved intel in there. But I am glad they did. Probably dosent, but I hope this helps ya out buddy.


  5. #4
    Senior Member straight_up's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pennsylvania/Arizona
    Posts
    601
    Member #
    4309
    Just got my MacBook Pro a month ago. Runs OSX really nicely, but Windows on it crashes a lot, thanks to the beta status of the MBP Boot Camp drivers for WIndows, AFAIK.
    I am Alan Hogan (@alanhogan on Twitter). I like PHP, UI/UX design, and OS X.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,146
    Member #
    10263
    Liked
    1 times
    I like my dual core Athlon X2 running Linux, thank ya very much :-P In all seriousness, however, I have no interest in paying the hardware premium and I enjoy tinkering in Linux too much to switch to OS X. By consequence...

    On the other hand, I do use Konqueror more and more often the better it gets, so if it's a matter of KHTML/WebCore, then I can sort of be counted as a yes.

    The day when I can use Konqueror instead of Firefox for everything (current limiting factor: Google Calendar and Gmail, though the latter runs with a few bugs) will be a great day.

  7. #6
    Senior Member GrandmasterB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    225
    Member #
    1902
    Liked
    1 times
    I am currently in the market for a MAC. I can't decide if I want to be mobile or get a G5 system. Currently I have an Athlon64 and running a 23" apple display...but I crave the power of a Mac.

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,146
    Member #
    10263
    Liked
    1 times
    Why not get a portable to complement your desktop? Then you have the best of both worlds :-)

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,354
    Member #
    1326
    I am thinking of getting one, but all my previous systems have been PC based.

    Off-topic: would a MAC spot my router and connect as easily as Windows or does me need to do some tweaking?

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,146
    Member #
    10263
    Liked
    1 times
    It should connect as easily -- and possibly more so :-)

  11. #10
    Senior Member straight_up's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pennsylvania/Arizona
    Posts
    601
    Member #
    4309
    Quote Originally Posted by bfsog
    I am thinking of getting one, but all my previous systems have been PC based.

    Off-topic: would a MAC spot my router and connect as easily as Windows or does me need to do some tweaking?
    I've heard it said that Macs connect to WIndows networks more easily than do Windows computers.

    Not sure about the file-sharing parts of that, but let me tell you, on Mac OSX it is a SNAP to connect to a wireless network. Easier than on Windows. That's really no problem.

    GrandmasterB:

    I think the Intel processors are supposed to be faster than G4 and G5.
    I am Alan Hogan (@alanhogan on Twitter). I like PHP, UI/UX design, and OS X.


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:24 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com