Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    Hi everybody,

I'm a free lance web designer. I do all my code by hand (I use Dreamweaver just for the auto-complete), and all my sites are XHTML compliant and 100% custom, at an insanely cheap price (I'm a student, and even I think I'm underselling myself). I also write my own PHP and JavaScript from scratch.

But the one feeling that I can't help shake is that website designers like myself will be replaced by Content Management Systems in the near future. My hosting/domain name re-seller (http://roundhousedomains.com) offers a CMS in which a person can create a fully functional website in under an hour =-O. How are web designers supposed to compete with that?

I know that CMSs can't write scripts, or really do any custom database work, but I'm sure that'll change in a short while.

Am I the only one who feels this way? What are your thoughts?

Member #
    I have thought about this as well, but I'm not worried any more. It is true that the do-it-yourself programs will get better but that will never change the fact that people will have to do work and spend time. Also the design part.

Most business will want something custom forever and don't necessarily have the time to do it. I think of other service businesses to make me feel better. Take painting for example. A lot of people know how to paint, and can go buy the tools, but they would rather just hire someone and make sure it's done right. Or maybe they just don't have the time.

Always do good work, offer great customer service, and someone will want your services.

Member #
    Quote Originally Posted by Clarence_82