Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    1
    Member #
    32333
    Hi friends, quick question and Im new to all of this. I didnt use a preconfigured package like xampp and wamp, learning from online tutorials. I installed everything manually by hand. Apache 2 and PHP5 on Win7, and my site looks good on localhost. Took me forever and sleepless knights LOL to get Apache and php working, and recently I installed Joomla 2.5. Im having problems with installation on 2:Pre-installation check, the database support says no, so I figured it was cause I didn't have Mysql installed.

    So I installed Msql5, and configured it by following the instructions. I restarted Apache and started Joomla installation again, and it still says database support no. I looked around google on it, saying something about enabling extension mysql.dll in php.ini file or something. Confusing stuff when im a newbie, did anybody came across this problem, and or does anybody know how to do fix this and tell me step by step. Thanx everybody

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    Quote Originally Posted by adobefreek, post: 239470
    Hi friends, quick question and Im new to all of this. I didnt use a preconfigured package like xampp and wamp, learning from online tutorials. I installed everything manually by hand. Apache 2 and PHP5 on Win7, and my site looks good on localhost. Took me forever and sleepless knights LOL to get Apache and php working, and recently I installed Joomla 2.5. Im having problems with installation on 2re-installation check, the database support says no, so I figured it was cause I didn't have Mysql installed.

    So I installed Msql5, and configured it by following the instructions. I restarted Apache and started Joomla installation again, and it still says database support no. I looked around google on it, saying something about enabling extension mysql.dll in php.ini file or something. Confusing stuff when im a newbie, did anybody came across this problem, and or does anybody know how to do fix this and tell me step by step. Thanx everybody
    Well, if what you want to do is muck about configuring Apache and MySQL, then the route you're going is the one for you.
    If you want to concentrate on developing in Joomla, you should really be using WAMP, it will make your life much easier.
    I don't really understand from your question the exact nature of your problem - "database support no" is not something I have ever come across. Can you copy and paste the exact wording of the error you're getting?
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!

  4. #3
    Junior Member RjapzDesigns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    17
    Member #
    31965
    Quote Originally Posted by AlphaMare, post: 239479
    Well, if what you want to do is muck about configuring Apache and MySQL, then the route you're going is the one for you.
    If you want to concentrate on developing in Joomla, you should really be using WAMP, it will make your life much easier.
    I don't really understand from your question the exact nature of your problem - "database support no" is not something I have ever come across. Can you copy and paste the exact wording of the error you're getting?
    Sorry AphaMare, I should be more specific, I screen capture it. It wont let me go any further till I fix the problem. Its the red word to the right where it says: Database Support NO
    joomla.jpg
    When I saw that, i installed: MySQL Workbench 5.2 CE. You think maybe I should use WAMP. I just didn't want to start all over again.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:22 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com