Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hi

Sorry for posting what probably is a question with no right answer, just lots of subjective ones. My background is systems (UNIX. VMS, Windows Server) and database (Sybase, Oracle, SQL Server) admin, and my web design experience is limited to simple html, but I have spent many hours searching for an answer, only to find more questions :-). So here goes…

I’m looking to have a web site developed (initially using a standard browser front-end, but possibly adding a mobile app in the future) for my [small] company, and I’m looking for some advice on the tools to specify (hopefully the reason for specifying the tools to be used will become apparent).

The web app will:
    • require access control, with content and functionality restricted dependent upon the user
    • use server-side scripting to access information from a database and generate dynamic page content based on a combination of the user and the request made (probably via a form)
    • use client-side scripting for certain ‘presentation’ manipulation once the page has been loaded (eg, clicking on a legend to change the ‘view’ of the displayed info)
    • need to ‘handle’ (receive, store and distribute) a range of multimedia and document formats

The web app will be used by ‘contributors’ to submit information (no access to view info other than their own profiles and submissions), by ‘users’ to access & manipulate the information (different users to access different sub-sets of info), and by the company to administer access and to define new submissions (ie, new pages for contributors to submit info and creating the underlying db tables to store that info).