Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Liked
    2783 times
    In my years as an ASP developer, I've gotten into the habit of using a querystring called "action" on my various pages to determine the appropriate action a page is to take.

For example, I may have an ASP page that looks something like this:

Code:
    sub Procedure1

end sub

sub Procedure2

end sub

sub PageHeader

(page header code)

end sub

sub PageFooter

(page footer code)

end sub

Dim Action
    Action = Request.QueryString ("action")
    if Action = "" then
         Action = "procedure1"
    end if
    PageHeader
    if Action = "procedure1" then
         Procedure1
    elseif Action = "procedure2" then
         Procedure2
    end if
    PageFooter
    In this very simple example, the problem isn't immediately apparent. But let's say we added Procedure3, Procedure4, Procedure5, Procedure6, etc. to this page. The series of if statements associated with the Action statement would quickly add up and become rather cumbersome.

Enter the "Execute" function. Execute is a built-in ASP function that will allow the programmer to execute a line of ASP code that is passed to it.

The syntax is as follows:
    Code:
    Execute (line of ASP code)
    For example:
    Code:
    Execute (Response.Write "Hello")
    Would execute the line Response.Write "Hello", and as a result, "Hello" would be outputted to the screen.