Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

View Poll Results: Is Mysql hard to learn or is Obe just being lazy?

Voters
2. You may not vote on this poll
  • It very hard, poor Obe is doing his best

1 50.00%
  • Its easy, Obe should get off his butt and learn it

1 50.00%
    Member #
    I'm new to all this database stuff and after finding Mysql control center I was really hoping to be able to scrape through without having to use the proper mySQL.

Excuse the dumbness of the following question but I'm really shooting in the dark on this one.

I've made 2 tables.
    to keep things simple lets just say i have 2 coloums in each.
    first colum in the first table is auto incrementing numbers and serves as the primary key, the second coloum is "products" (don't worry, i'm not setting up a shop, you're safe).

Now i want the second table to have 2 coloums aswell, 1 to store comments, and the other to show what products these comments are for.

And this is where i'm stumped. How do I get the products coloum in the first table to be kind of linked to the comments in the second table for that product?

I've tried searching for some documentation for this program and I can't find any, I've read something about foreign keys but I've read somewhere else that this isn't the best method, then they list all this code which I haven't got a clue about

Any help would be VERY much appreciated on this.

BTW i'm using dreamweaver to retrieve the results, should I be making dreamweaver get these records from the other table?

oh i don't know....

Member #
    MySQL comes packed with support for two types of transactional DB's.
    InnoDB, and a inferior version from Berkley which I can't recall the name of.