Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Liked
    205 times
    I'm building a web app for a client which will contain a hundred-million record database which will be populated by data imports on the order of a million records each. He wanted to prototype the concept on the cheap using a few million records, so I decided on PHP/MySQL for the first iteration of the project, with an upgrade plan consisting of C++/Oracle upgrades (if necessary).

Unfortunately, I have little experience doing this scale of app with MySQL... the only multi-million-record database development I've done is for MS-SQL (and a little Oracle and Informix stuff, but negligible). So I'm in unchartered waters!!

Well, I'm doing my first import test, and after 12 hours, it's only imported about 300,000 records total... It started out great... I was like "piece of cake" but performance seems to be linearly degrading per the size of the database. :huh:

Some things I'm considering:
    1. Dumping MySQL and going with Postgres, which has stored procedures... not sure if they'd improve insert performance, though!

2. Finding a way to do batch inserts to improve performance... unfortunately, I'm normalizing the data as I import it, which requires development of relationships... but still.

3. Eliminating indexing during inserts?

4. Switching to prepared statements...

5. Switching from MyIsam to InnoDB (for data integrity and possibly performance increase?)

Any MySQL experts have any advice?

Thanks!

Member #
    We have never done a database that large either, so I am anxious to see how it is resolved.

Here is a thread on PHP Builder forum that may give you some ideas:
    http://phpbuilder.com/board/showthread.php?t=10342378

Member #
    Quote Originally Posted by transio