Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hey this question pertains to coldfusion MX7 and dreamweaver 8. I am working on a new website and i have a area where the users are able to log in if they have already created an account. My database contains a table called users in which all my user's data is stored. How do i, once someone has logged in draw the data for only that user out of the table and display it to the user. I am trying to do something similar to myspace and facebook in which one you log in your data is displayed to you shortly after. I am new to coldfusion but i know some of the basics and i have been trying to get this right but i have been unable to figure it out thus far. Perhaps i am aiming a bit high here but haha i am eager to learn as much as possible. Help would be greatly appreciated!

Member #
    In it's simplest state, you have a form page, an action page, and a page that displays all the user info once they've logged in.

The form page (maybe login.cfm) has the username and password fields that the user fills in. This page submits to the action page (perhaps login_action.cfm). Example:

Code:
    <html>
    <head>
    <title>Login Form</title>
    </head>
    <body>
    <form action="login_action.cfm" method="post">
    Username: <input type="text" name="username" />
    Password: <input type="password" name="password" />
    <input type="submit" name="submit" />
    </form>
    </body>
    </html>
    Once the form is submitted, you query your users table to check if the username and password they entered match a record in the database. Be sure to set up your datasource in the Coldfusion Administration panel. Your data might be structured differently, but here's a general example of how you'd build your query (on login_action.cfm):