Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Hamden Ct
    Posts
    103
    Member #
    1121
    Okay, so I have apache and php installed, and I wanted to install MySQL. I followed filburt1's tutorial, but when I try to access MySQL i get this:
    C:\mysql\bin>mysql
    ERROR 2003: Can't connect to MySQL server on 'localhost' (10061)
    Uh.. how do I fix that?

  2.  

  3. #2
    Member Black Vivi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    75
    Member #
    1072
    u have to run apache, and then run mysql
    Download Firebird now!

  4. #3
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    You don't need Apache to use MySQL...did you install the MySQL service successfully?
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  5. #4
    Member Mithrandir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    36
    Member #
    2008
    did you run mysql for the first time? (either by clicking on mysql/winmysqladmin or by running it from the cmd prompt.)
    CoSForums.com - The Ultimate Harry Potter Community.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Hamden Ct
    Posts
    103
    Member #
    1121
    It said the service was installed successfully.

    And I did run MySQL for the first time.

  7. #6
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    Do you have a software firewall that's blocking it. If the server is running with the default settings, then that's really the only possible explaination.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Hamden Ct
    Posts
    103
    Member #
    1121
    I don't think so... I have a router but I forwarded the port to my computer.

  9. #8
    Member Mithrandir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    36
    Member #
    2008
    what environment are you running under? If you're running under W2K/XP are the ports open through the built-in firewall??
    CoSForums.com - The Ultimate Harry Potter Community.

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Hamden Ct
    Posts
    103
    Member #
    1121
    XP, built in firewall isn't enabled.

  11. #10
    Member Black Vivi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    75
    Member #
    1072
    Originally posted by filburt1
    You don't need Apache to use MySQL...did you install the MySQL service successfully?
    i can just run them in any order, but i have to have a server on to be able to actually use mysql
    might just be me tho...
    Download Firebird now!


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:02 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com