Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Thread: Database Design

Member #
    Hi, I am new to mySQL database design.

I am having trouble getting my head around the best way to design my database for a simple online game.

Here are the details followed by my attempt and questions:

A game where multiple decisions are made by teams competing against each other.

Decisions are grouped into 7 stages where each stage has multiple choice actions. Based on their decisions, their performance is calculated and outputted after each stage of decisions.

At the end of the game the teams are ranked in terms of performance.

Firstly I have drawn up some inputs that I will obtain from the users:

Table Name: Game
    Game No.
    Total No. of Players
    Current Status
    No. of Teams

Table Name:School Details
    SchoolName
    ContactName
    Email
    Phone
    Street Address
    City/Town
    County

Table Name: Team
    Team ID
    TeamName
    Password
    Logo
    Slogan
    No. of Players in Team

Table Name: Decisions
    Marketing Research T
    Investment
    Sector Choice
    Start-up Consultant
    Sale Price
    Casing
    Heating Element
    Fan
    Switch/Controls
    Packaging
    Head of Engineering
    Head of S&M
    Factory Size
    Machinery Choice 1
    Number of Machines 1
    Product Research & Development Budget 1
    Sales and Marketing Budget 1
    Advertising Budget 1
    Production Run 1

Table Name: Summary
    (Linked to TeamID)
    Current Balance
    Previos Balance
    Current Market Share
    Previous Market Share
    Previous Price
    Current Price

I have grouped these into what I think the tables should be. There is a possibility of a game running from different schools with the games being unrelated and running separately hence the GameID.