Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 6 of 6
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Webzarus

Thread: MySQL new

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    50
    Member #
    31189

    MySQL new

    Hi !

    I'm working on a MySQL database and connection. It is basically a personal early summer project. So I am riffing off of a couple YouTube tutorials.

    I've noticed, though, that my phpmyadmin interface is different from what I see in the videos. For one things, I can't actually create or name a database (tables, yes. But not actual databases) through phpmyadmin. I have to go through my cPanel's MySQL wizard. Also, the wizard forces me to input a password for the database and my database name have to be proceeded by "sitename_databasename". Samething for the user name.

    Lastly, my biggest issue is that my phpmyadmin, doesn't actually show me the php database code when a new databaseis created.

    So are these differences material. Can I continue following the tutorials? Thanks in advance.

  2.  

  3. #2
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,485
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2783 times
    Look at it this way...does what you're doing work? When you set up the database and connection, can you actually access it?

    If you can, then you don't need to follow the tutorials you're looking at that closely. A lot of tutorials and scripts and examples online contain dated and inaccurate information, and quite often to solve a problem or to get something to work you'll need to take bits and pieces from several different tutorials and pages to get what you want to do to work in conjunction with your own intuition and resource. I had a client a couple of days ago who had an SQL Server database that he wanted to share with others and the SQL Browser service (which is required to make the database shareable) wouldn't start. The problem was partly that an exception rule for the service (and SQL Server for that matter) hadn't been set up in Windows Firewall, which I had known previously; and partly a registry key that needed to be changed that I had never heard of before. Several sites mentioned the registry key and the spots it was supposed to be located in, but none actually had the correct location, so I had to search the registry for the key that would allow me to do what I wanted. So, while I used the tutorials and instructions I found online, the ultimate solution required me to do something on top of those, which is pretty common.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    55
    Member #
    31903
    Follow the below steps in cpanel for create mysql DB
    In cPanel, scroll down to the MySQL section and click “MySQL Databases”: The first section, “Create New Database”, is where we will be creating the database. By default, cPanel prefixes the name of your MySQL database with the username of your cPanel account. Enter your database name, and click “Create Database”

  5. #4
    Senior Member Webzarus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    South Carolina Coast
    Posts
    3,322
    Member #
    27709
    Liked
    770 times
    There's tutorials ?

    Jeez... I guess you can just wait on the movie for pretty much everything now

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    50
    Member #
    31189
    I'm not too happy about the default prefix actually...but that is a change to make another day!

  7. #6
    Senior Member Webzarus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    South Carolina Coast
    Posts
    3,322
    Member #
    27709
    Liked
    770 times
    the reason most hosting companies PREFIX a table with the username is for THEIR management purposes...

    Imagine having a MySQL DB with thousands of tables ?

    and the possibility to of duplicate names in one DB ? easier for them if you send in a request saying you are having issues... they can find YOUR DB's with a simple Query. Instead of having to look up your account, find the DB names associated with your account... then after all that, actually address the issue.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:07 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com