Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member toadeny's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    188
    Member #
    1426
    Just a question about the tutorial on running apache, php, mysql.

    I notice that in the tutorial it states for mysql to use root and "" for testing database stuff locally. My question is what if your server (machine with apache,php,mysql) is actually the internet gateway for your house like mine is. Im reluctant to install MySql if it can be acsessed by someone connecting to it with root and "". There is obviosly a way to configure this option so that there is a password asigned?

    Thanks in advance.

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Brak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    3,413
    Member #
    1217
    Liked
    2 times
    Depending on what system you're running the mysql off of, it's different to set the root password. But yes, it can be set and NEEDS to be set.
    Kyle Neath: Rockstar extraordinare
    The blog | The poetry site | The Spore site

  4. #3
    Senior Member toadeny's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    188
    Member #
    1426
    Well im using apache 1.3 on windows xp with php 4.3.3 and mysql servers and clients 4.0.15 standard.

    Please tell me what i need to do. i have phpmyadmin 2.5.3 but not installed yet.

    Pleae can someone tell me what i need to do to protect my database !

  5. #4
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    You should always change default passwords (like the "sa", blank password default for SQL Server). I doubt there are many worms out there trying to nail your MySQL server, but there's always the chance, and you should lock yourself up tight. Enough SQL Servers have been nailed because of the default blank password for us to learn a lesson.

    I'm not sure how to change it, though.

  6. #5
    Senior Member Brak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    3,413
    Member #
    1217
    Liked
    2 times
    1. Open the command line
    2. Navigate to the folder mysql executable is in, usually something like C:\mysql\bin
    3.type in:"mysql -u root", you'll ge ta welcome message and a commandline that says mysql>
    4. type in "mysql> SET PASSWORD FOR root@localhost=PASSWORD('rubberchicken');", youll get a success message
    5. type in "exit"

    And tha'ts it

    Here's a copy/paste from my command line just for example:
    Code:
    C:\>
    C:\mysql>cd bin
    
    C:\mysql\bin>mysql -u root
    Welcome to the MySQL monitor.  Commands end with ; or \g.
    Your MySQL connection id is 1 to server version: 4.0.12-nt
    
    Type 'help;' or '\h' for help. Type '\c' to clear the buffer.
    
    mysql> SET PASSWORD FOR root@localhost=PASSWORD('mypassword');
    Query OK, 0 rows affected (0.13 sec)
    
    mysql>exit
    Bye
    Kyle Neath: Rockstar extraordinare
    The blog | The poetry site | The Spore site


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:03 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com