Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: MySQL?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,518
    Member #
    5220
    OK I am confused. What exactly is MySQL? I know it used to create databases, but is it all controlled, like are the tables created and stuff, using PHP or is it an actual WYSIWYG Editor like MS Access?

    I would like to know how to make PHP login scripts and such but have no clue where to start. The best thing I can do in PHP is make a mail form
    Rednerve
    Creative Freelance Design

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,274
    Member #
    4362
    MySQL is a database, like Oracle and others, but MySQL principal feature is that it's FREE, and multi-platform.

    Unless you install a editor like phpMyAdmin the database is invisible to you.

    Data is structured in databases->tables->cells.
    Cells are done with columns and rows.

    That data is stored in the hard-drive of the hosting server.

    To retrieve data from a MySQL db to a HTML page via PHP, you should use PHP's functions for it:
    http://es2.php.net/manual/en/ref.mysql.php

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,518
    Member #
    5220
    I am having trouble installing it and downloading it. I don't know which version to get and where to get it from and installing it I have no clue whatsoever. Please help...
    Rednerve
    Creative Freelance Design

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,274
    Member #
    4362

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,518
    Member #
    5220
    I download MySQL 4.0 and then try and double click the 'SETUP' file but nothing happens. Then I try the other 'Setup' file and it says:

    "Warning: You are about to change your internet settings.

    If you wish to continue press 'Yes' if you don't select 'Cancel'"

    So I press 'Yes' and again, nothing happens. Why won't it work?
    Rednerve
    Creative Freelance Design

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,274
    Member #
    4362
    Post that question in the tutorial thread

  8. #7
    Senior Member ceetee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    117
    Member #
    2035
    http://firepages.com.au/ have an easy to install bundle.

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,518
    Member #
    5220
    I have the MySQL file, and I have Apache and PHP working fine, it's just that Setup.exe for MySQL won't do anything when I double click
    Rednerve
    Creative Freelance Design


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:03 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com