Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    4
    Member #
    36052
    I've been having a much easier time installing drupal on the hosting server and modifying it from there. Maybe the database is the main issue why I struggle when creating a website on my localhost computer, and then uploading. Hopefully someone can give me insight.

    Does it make more sense to install on the site and build from there?

    Will that create any issues for big changes to the site?

    Or is it better practice to build the site locally, and then upload?

    I am just at the beginning of learning CMS, and it would be helpful to learn it right from the advice of experienced users. Thank you in advanced for any input.

    Allen

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Webzarus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    South Carolina Coast
    Posts
    3,322
    Member #
    27709
    Liked
    770 times
    I'm assuming you don't have a testing platform in the "wild" so to speak.

    so assuming you're talking about a shared hosting plan, what I do for customers that want to constantly tweak or have a bunch of changes "they" want to make, but don't want to affect the "live" site...

    I set them up a BETA site identical to their current setup... normally I just create a Cname (beta.theirsitename.com )... put the build in a sub directory of their current site... I create a BETA DB, only difference is the name...

    then I make sure to put a robots.txt file on the root to stop legitimate search bots from trying to index it.

    What you then have is a "development" site that won't affect current visitors, a DB that can easily be swapped back and forth between live and development with a simple change to the table name in the "config settings"... and when you're ready to update the live site, you use FTP to move the updated files from the development site to the live site.

    If I'm doing the work, I put a copy of their live site on one of my servers, create a name on my servers for it... do all the work, get the approvals, then open an FTP between the 2 sites and move the necessary files ( backing up everything on both sides before moving anything ).

  4. #3
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,485
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2783 times
    I do something similar to WZ's setup, except that I have a three-stage, or in some cases a four-stage, approach.

    Stage 1: develop locally. It's just faster not having to wait to upload a change, refresh the page, wait for it to download, and change again. Saves a buttload in bandwidth charges, too.
    Stage 2: upload changes to a dev server that I have. This doesn't completely replicate the live hosting environment, but it's pretty close.
    Stage 3: upload to the live server after I download the entire existing site to a separate folder. If it's a four-stage approach, I'll adopt the same logic as WZ does...I set up a beta site, test away, and make sure any idiosyncracies associated with the live server are ironed out.
    Stage 4 (if necessary): upload to the actual live site itself.

    I may modify these steps depending on the customer and what resources they already have in place, but this is generally my approach.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    4
    Member #
    36052
    You guys gave excellent and clear feedback. I really appreciate it. I am going to work on doing it the ways suggested. thanks!

    Allen


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:22 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com