Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: When posting:

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    435
    Member #
    8983
    Sorry bad wording...lol
    When useing the functions in the post a reply or topic screen eg:
    http://www.webdesignforums.net/editp...tpost&p=174371(this one) any time I have used the insert a link,email quote ect that pops up a prompt, or confirm dialog box before pressing the submit post button the screen goes straight to the web design forums home page without posting the message. this has happened in Fire fox,Internet explorer and Netscape Navigator.
    Thee Pyro Wolf

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member rosland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,944
    Member #
    2096
    Obviously, your question is meant for filburt1.

    However, out of curiosity, what do you mean by:
    "a link requires a dialog box when finished"? :alien:

    And what do you mean by "...goes straight to the wdf home page"?

    Maybe fiburt understands what you mean, I certainly don't.

    (You probably have a valid point with whatever you're saying, it's just that I don't get it. Do you mean posted links brings you back to the WDF homepage? That never happens to me?
    Then again, I'm certain that I'm in the dark with regard to your intended meaning
    )
    S. Rosland

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    435
    Member #
    8983
    "a link requires a dialog box when finished"
    you reworded what i had said:
    when useing a link or other dialog items.
    lol...
    Thee Pyro Wolf

  5. #4
    Senior Member rosland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,944
    Member #
    2096
    OK, I see you've edited your post. But I think I know what you mean.

    If you use any of the insert/format tools in the "post reply" editing window, you're taken back to the index page.

    This has been brought up before. The exact same thing happens to me. But ONLY if I'm using FF, and ONLY if I'm marking text and pressing one of the formatting tools. In IE, it works fine. The appropriate tags gets inserted. In FF, what you describe, happens every time.

    If you want to insert a link, you don't have to press any of the formatting tags. These are added automatically when you press 'submit' or 'preview'.
    S. Rosland

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    435
    Member #
    8983
    Thank you, I used the links as an example because when i was new i wanted to give them a differnet name and did not know the syntax.lol a quick suggestion to filbert1 add this error into the front pg for firefox...
    Thanks Again,
    Thee Pyro Wolf

  7. #6
    Senior Member rosland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,944
    Member #
    2096
    Just as a tip towards links. (I'll leave it to filburt to address other issues)
    If you want to write a link to f.ex Google like this:

    This is a link to Google

    You tag it like this:
    [URL=www.google.com]This[/URL] is a link to Google.

    (If you have any BB tag questions, feel free to ask. There are a lot of BB tags (not present in the menu) you can use to achieve certain formatting)
    S. Rosland

  8. #7
    Senior Member audiofreak9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    339
    Member #
    9584
    Pyrodragon, I have experienced the exact same problem. It is in the Advanced Post, when using the "Insert Hyperlink" button, after inputing the two fields and click OK I get sent to: http://www.webdesignforums.net/ I then have to hit the BACK button to get back to the post I was writting...

  9. #8
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    Post button issues are known and should be fixed in WDF v5. I probably broke some interaction between the markup and the scripting...the piles and piles of scripting.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  10. #9
    Senior Member audiofreak9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    339
    Member #
    9584
    Need a shovel? LOL...anyway it's just as easy to insert an address and it gets recognized automatically. Thanks

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    435
    Member #
    8983
    That is true I have learned to just enter the code myself It is a pain tring to go through the menu to insert the tags...lol for the most part i reply in the Quick Reply menu becuase it still gives u the same amount of customization and allows you to see the post (a quick tip for version 5 allow users to see the last post lol)
    Thee Pyro Wolf


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:42 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com