Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    Liked
    205 times
    Hi everyone,

Well, I've been working in this industry for over 6 years now, and I have to say... I'm bored out of my freakin mind. I'm thinking of leaving it all behind and doing something else. I'm just so disillusioned with this field. All of it. Marketing, advertising, "creative services" - all meaningless busy work that produces nothing of real value for society. I think about what I do - what I have become - and it sickens me. How did I get here, anyway?

So anyway, I have some ideas for new paths in life, and I was wondering what you guys think of them:
    1. Automotive design. I've always wanted to be a car designer. Maybe even own my own small-scale car manufacturer. I have some really cool ideas and read up on auto design a lot (aerodynamics, suspension design, race car engineering, etc.). I also studied mechanical engineering for a couple years in school, so I'd have a little bit of a head start. Oh, and I LOVE cars!
    2. Industrial design. I have some cool ideas for design and function of lots of things, like watches, furniture, appliances, etc. My background in architecture wouldn't hurt, either!
    3. Software. I have a couple of ideas for applications that I could produce myself that could bring in some serious potential revenues. I have accumulated a lot of knowledge of software design over the last several years, and I am confident that I could make something really breakthrough in some niche markets that are way behind the times.