Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Senior Member rosland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,944
    Member #
    2096
    I recently added a new RAM block (512MB PC2700) to my Lifebook.

    It's been working fine up until now, but now there's something seriously wrong.
    At random intervals, the laptop freezes. Everything on-screen remains visible (including the mouse cursor), but nothing responds anymore (keyboard, mouse, running applications). Nothing specific triggers this. It happens like I said, at random intervals. No specific application or anything. It's not an "overheat" problem either, as this occurs anywhere between immediately-after-start-up to 3 hours into work.
    A forced shutdown (through pressing and holding the PWR button) followed by an immediate re-boot, solves the hang (temporarily)

    I suspect the problem is RAM related (as no new software has been installed, and the machine was stable up until the new RAM install).

    So, in short:
    Does anyone know of any good RAM testing software (free), or even better:
    Has anybody experienced this themselves, and have a fix?
    S. Rosland

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    I got random BSODs on my tablet PC when I put in another 512 MB stick of memory. I have since put in the single original 512 MB stick and the exact same stick Toshiba recommends (but $129 for 1 GB at the time versus the $300 Toshiba wanted). No problems since and I have 1.5 GB of memory, 512 MB more than even my desktop.

    I think it's just really picky about the brand. Strangely it was Corsair which is a good brand but it still didn't like it (two of the four sticks in my desktop). I haven't had blue screens since.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  4. #3
    Senior Member planetgman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    569
    Member #
    10406
    Same thing here, I had this issue when I installed a new mem stick.
    It mostly happened when I would be doing alot of cutting and pasting with graphics.
    I too put in the MFR (HP) suggested stick and after that it worked fine.
    Good luck....
    GMan

  5. #4
    WDF Staff Wired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    7,656
    Member #
    1234
    Liked
    137 times
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

    Admin at houseofhelp.com

  6. #5
    Senior Member rosland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,944
    Member #
    2096
    I downloaded the 'memtest' image (iso file) and made a bootable CD.

    When starting from the disk, it immediately starts running some type of test pattern.
    The problem, is that the test seems to run for ever. It doesn't say "running test no. 3 out of 10" or anything, it just says running test no. 4.
    I eventually clicked 'exit' after continously running the test for 4 hours and 35 minutes. At that time it had progressed to 'test 4'. God knows how many there is, and what the end result will display.

    When I aborted the test, it had on error line:

    Tst | Pass | Failed Address | Good | Bad | Err-Bits | Count | Chan

    6 | 0 | 0001e122fe4 -481.1MB | dfffffff | dfffbfff | 7 | 1
    • So, how can I use this information?
    • Is there anyway I can block the affected memory address area?
    • What happens if I run the test completely through?
    • Does it ever end?
    • Will I find out anything useful?
    S. Rosland

  7. #6
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    A single error is probably not that big a deal, but if the page is full of errors, then there's a bad stick.

    memtest86 runs forever until you tell it to stop. It was probably the fourth consecutive test it was running.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  8. #7
    Senior Member rosland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,944
    Member #
    2096
    Quote Originally Posted by filburt1
    memtest86 runs forever until you tell it to stop. It was probably the fourth consecutive test it was running.
    You're right.
    I should have read the online manual.
    S. Rosland

  9. #8
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    And damn you Rosland, I got two BSODs this morning. You jinxed me.

    (but they haven't happened since, I think they were freak occurences, but still...)
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  10. #9
    Senior Member rosland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,944
    Member #
    2096
    On a positive note, mine seems to be stable now :classic:

    I realized my C partition was loaded to capacity (only 1,5% available free space).
    (Probably generated swap file issues)
    I moved 15GB over to the D partition, and ran a defrag on C.


    Now it seems to behave.
    S. Rosland


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:47 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com