Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member thuffner's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    165
    Member #
    1363
    Alright so here's the deal...All Google ads on all sites don't show up for me - in either Firefox or Internet Explorer. They do, however, show up on my other home computer.

    1. I have no pop-up blocker installed.
    2. Just installed the latest version of Firefox.
    3. Javascript is enabled in my Internet Options for both browsers.
    4. Instead of the ads, there is just a blank space.
    5. Scanned my computer with Ad Aware, SpyBot and MS AntiSpyware (all with most recent definitions files) and found no spyware/adware infections.
    6. Yahoo! ads show up.

    Does anyone have any clue as how to get Google ads back for this computer?
    BondMovies.com - "Nobody Does It Better."

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff Wired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    7,656
    Member #
    1234
    Liked
    137 times
    You WANT to see them? okie dokie.

    Check your host file, could be set to block them, anti-spyware that blocks ads may have done it.
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

    Admin at houseofhelp.com

  4. #3
    Senior Member thuffner's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    165
    Member #
    1363
    Well played! Thanks, my friend.
    BondMovies.com - "Nobody Does It Better."

  5. #4
    WDF Staff Wired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    7,656
    Member #
    1234
    Liked
    137 times
    What did it?
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

    Admin at houseofhelp.com

  6. #5
    Senior Member thuffner's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    165
    Member #
    1363
    The hosts file...Looks like SpyBot added the Google block in for some reason...
    BondMovies.com - "Nobody Does It Better."

  7. #6
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    It probably thinks Google uses a tracking cookie, although I don't believe it does. Embarassingly so, because WDF uses Google for its ads.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:49 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com