Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    See the attached picture. It shows what looks like a burned-in line on the screen. It happens to correspond to exactly where Vista's sidebar used to render on the screen. Obligitory "sorry for the quality, it's a cell phone camera" here.

    Vista is not at fault (or more accurately, it can't be generating the image right now), because at the moment, I'm running XP, and the problem appeared during a Linux installation as well.

    • The monitor is a 17" Envision LCD, connected via VGA (DVI isn't an option for the monitor).
    • The monitor is my secondary monitor. My primary is a 20" Dell 2001FP LCD (connected via DVI) and it doesn't show the problem.
    • Both are attached to an AGP Geforce 6800, both overclocked and unlocked. The CPU is overclocked too. However, under Vista, I believe everything was running as stock. The problem appeared when Vista was running, too.
    • Even a completely black screen shows the problem, although while quite obvious, it isn't as bright.
    • The line is not a solid line of pixels, but more a vertical collection of pixels with seemingly random colors.

    Other than this, the monitor works fine.

    Ideas?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,146
    Member #
    10263
    Liked
    1 times
    What if you switch the monitors?

  4. #3
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    Tried it also. The 2001FP always displays the image correctly.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,146
    Member #
    10263
    Liked
    1 times
    Ah. Fun. Hardware problem. I highly doubt you'll be able to fix it without a new monitor

  6. #5
    Senior Member planetgman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    569
    Member #
    10406
    Yep, with the pricing of new monitors vs repairing, it is cheaper to just get a new monitor.
    Though, I don't know how much it is to replace the lcd.
    GMan


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:00 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com