Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hey everybody, just letting everyone know I'm new here. I'm a beginner in web design, i know a lot about HTML and CSS but not much about javascript. Right now I'm trying to make a template in photoshop for a website I'm going to make with music theory lessons. If anyone has any tips for me on template building, please let me know.

Member #
    The main things with building any sites are:
    • acessibility
    • content
    • layout
    • visual appeal
    • does it render properly with different browsers, screen sizes, OS etc?
    • is the code up to standard?
    You may want to check out these threads:

http://www.webdesignforums.net/web_d...ite_11773.html
    http://www.webdesignforums.net/web_d...n_ts_7931.html

(welcome to the forums, by the way)

Member #
    There are some tips i quote from someone they said. Hope to help you.
    1. Accessibility
    - Is content structurally separate from navigational elements?
    - Is the website cross-browser compatible?
    - How compliant is the website with W3C coding standards? Valid HTML/CSS?
    - Are 'alt' tags in place on all significant images?
    - Are text-based alternatives in place to convey essential information if this is featured within images or multimedia files?

2. Navigation
    - Are links labelled with anchor text that provides a clear indication of where they lead.
    - Depth - what is the maximum number of clicks it takes to reach a page within the depths of the site?
    - If a splash screen or navigation feature is provided in a Java/Javascript/flash format, is a text-based alternative also available?
    - Responsive onclick feedback - Is a response given immediately (0.1 seconds) after a click is made on a hyperlink?