Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member diddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    502
    Member #
    16955
    I need to buy some RAM for my granddad's computer. He sent me some system information, but his computer is so old and terrible that I'm not sure what RAM to buy. I can't seem to find the right information from Google or crucial.com, and I'm not going to ask him to download any software to scan his computer because he is very tech un-savvy. So I was hoping that someone would be able to give me the most likely type of RAM to buy from these system information:

    Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 3 (2600.xpsp_sp3_gdr.080814-1236)
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: VIA Technologies, Inc.
    System Model: VT82C694X
    BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
    Processor: Intel Celeron, ~890MHz
    Memory: 256MB RAM
    Page File: 227MB used, 392MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.5512 32bit Unicode
    Any help on any possible type of RAM to be used would be helpful. Even if you could tell me what type of RAM old computers used would be helpful.
    I do know that he can only take a maximum of 512mb, if that helps.

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Seldimi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Kozani, Greece
    Posts
    488
    Member #
    409
    I guess its SDRAM..
    With a google search I found this

    It says 133MHz 2GB Ram.. but you'd better tell your uncle to use CPUZ (google it) and see the real system speficiations and RAM type
    - Webmaster's Planet . Greek Vortal For Webmasters ...
    - MyPortFolio - View My Creations

  4. #3
    Senior Member diddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    502
    Member #
    16955
    so you'd recommend SDRAM?

    thanks.

  5. #4
    Senior Member Seldimi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Kozani, Greece
    Posts
    488
    Member #
    409
    Yes..SDRAM.. but use cpu-z to be 100% sure and not guess :P
    - Webmaster's Planet . Greek Vortal For Webmasters ...
    - MyPortFolio - View My Creations

  6. #5
    WDF Staff Wired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    7,656
    Member #
    1234
    Liked
    137 times
    Have him go to: http://www.crucial.com/systemscanner/index.aspx

    It will scan his computer and recommend memory based upon the scan.
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

    Admin at houseofhelp.com


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:59 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com