Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Static IP

  1. #1
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    I just got DSL at home, and I got service with a static IP address.

    WOOHOO !!!

    I reformatted my machine and put Windows 2k Server / SQL Server 2k on it.

    I'm also going to get another computer soon and make it a Linux / Tomcat / PHP / MySQL box, dedicated to websites.

    Hopefully, soon, I'll start saving about $50/month on hosting... which means the DSL will almost pay for itself!

    I'll keep you guys posted on how everything goes!

  2.  

  3. #2
    JR
    JR is offline
    Senior Member JR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,354
    Member #
    257
    I have a static IP, but they would never let me host websites using it (i don't think so anyway)
    JR

  4. #3
    Senior Member nsr81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,132
    Member #
    250
    Liked
    15 times
    You might wanna check your agreement, almost all major DSL providers restrict hosting a website on their DSL line.
    There and Back Again :Ogre:

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Hamden Ct
    Posts
    103
    Member #
    1121
    And it probably would be a lot slower than a paid webhost.

  6. #5
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    Like it matters for my homepage? :-P

    I think my isp allows hosting. I'll double-check their site though.

  7. #6
    Senior Member GrandmasterB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    225
    Member #
    1902
    Liked
    1 times
    I know the local DSL providers here don't allow you to host. When I had broadband cable they threatened to shut me down. Also, transio...you thinking of putting in a router or making a proxy server to run behind? It's always good to add a little security.

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    1
    Member #
    3163
    Some ISPs monitor their IP addresses on a subject of running servers,
    but others do not care about Web Hosting on DSL line.
    Check your ISP "actual" policy. It may be very different from what they declared.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:29 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com