Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    Hey everyone
    I am doing a website for a band and they want to sell their album through the website. I don't think there would be much point setting up a whole shopping cart for them. Does anyone know of a better way to sell it?
    I'm new to web design and haven't worked with shopping carts yet.

Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    Hey

well what you could do is, simply get them to set up a paypal account, so people can go to their site and buy the album through paypal, it's a lot cheaper than an inbuilt shopping cart.

to promote the album, it's a good idea to do a lot of social bookmarking - target sites like Digg, Tumblr, Facebook, StumbleUpon and others, a lot of people browse them everyday.
    getting some of their music onto a local radio station would help a lot too - a small one I mean not a corporate one.
    after that it's all up to good marketing on their part.
    and having some talent helps

Member #
    Thanks for the reply, I decided I was just going to use the paypal account for them.

Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    Oh brilliant.
    I thought you may have, has been a week since the post but there were no replies so I couldn't be sure.
    good luck with that

Member #
    thanks again

Member #
    Liked
    2783 times
    Be very, very careful with PayPal, especially since you're selling soft goods and can't get a signature...unless you're actually sending the CD (in which case you want a signature with delivery if you can get it). I've had disputes on both sides of the fence with PayPal, and they are definitely slanted in favor of the customer, which is great if you're buying things but terrible if you're a merchant.