Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Liked
    6 times
    Well i am 19 years old and I am new to taxes. I got a job for a online company a website designer. "more of helping the main people" but i was hired as a independent contractor. Witch i have to file my own taxes at the end of the year. What i need help with is what forms do i have to file at the end of the year and when do i pay these taxes? I did some research but am very confused. I have to pay state, fed, and self-employed taxes. Is there any other taxes i have to pay?

A bit more information i work about 28 hours a week and get paid $13/hour.

A general question i have is do you file your tax return the same time you file your taxes? or how does that work?

thanks ahead of the time for anyone taking the time to help me out.
    "ON TIME, ON TARGET, NEVER QUIT"

Member #
    Liked
    770 times
    Huh ?

The online company should have provided you a 1099 for what they have paid you.

The 1040 form that you will need to file will be determined by several factors that you need to figure out... 1040ez can be used if you're planning on using all the standard deductions and have made less than 56,000 ( I think ), youll need to verify that figure, and you aren't planning on claiming anyone but yourself as a deduction ...

A 1040a is filed if you can qualify for using the 1040ez ... Of you are waning to itemize your deductions...

Once you have calculated all your numbers ( based on the forms you use ), it will tell you then what ( if any you need to pay ... And yes, that amount needs to be paid when the return is filed.