Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Java Books

CPD
    Member #
    Liked
    5 times
    There's no particular thread for this so I thought I'd post it here.

I understand this is a forum primarily aimed towards web design but as we all know, Java comes into web design quite often and is related to the open source family of languages.

Could anybody recommend some reading material to take an individual from beginner (not that I'm a beginner but I think it would be beneficial for the entire community) to advanced in the Java language be it in one book or over a range of books?

Member #
    Liked
    205 times
    Just to clarify, you're talking about Sun's Java, the server-side programming language, right?

I haven't used Java in years, so I can't recommend anything for you... just want to clarify that.

Member #
    Liked
    2783 times
    I'm wondering if he means JavaSCRIPT. Javascript is much easier to make recommendations for than Java.

I used Java for a project briefly from December - March. Wouldn't touch it again with a 50-foot pole if I didn't have to.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

CPD
    Member #
    Liked
    5 times
    I'm not referring to JavaScript; definitely referring to Java :P. It can be used for more then server-side programming as well.

Member #
    Liked
    2783 times