Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    Member #
    Liked
    6 times
    Ok, so i am a independent contractor and i am running into a few problems. I work at this only company and i got hired to update listings in there mysql and put car ads on used vehicle websites. But my manger is treating me like a employee. such as i asked to take an hour off work so i can to the dmv and he wont let me, nor wont let me take a week off work when i asked a month ahead of time. There paying me like a contractor. where i have to pay the 1099 i think? What rights do i have as a independent contractor? He yells at me for texting, he yelled at me for almost an hour cause, they were having me drive back and forth to the car lot just to take down checks, and they were giving me 10 bucks a week for gas, and i am driving 10miles round trip sometimes 4+ times a week. i asked the boss for extra gas money and i got bitched at cause im selfish for asking for more money and cause i didnt ask him. but he pulls the boss ****. but if i am correct i work for my self?

any ideas on what i should do?
    "ON TIME, ON TARGET, NEVER QUIT"

Member #
    Liked
    2783 times
    If you're being paid like a contractor, you are one. That means you're only obligated to continue service for the duration of the contract (if there is one). If you want to take a week off, you take a week off. You don't get paid...you just take it.

Now, if the client is treating you like an employee instead of a contractor, then you have two options:

1) Ask to become an employee, with all of the benefits, etc. due therein.
    2) Walk away if your contract allows you to do so.