Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Member #
    Hi all,

I have just turned freelance lately (though I've been in web design for like 6 years now), and have worked on freelancing sites like Elance and oDesk for a bit, but I realize these are not clients of the highest quality, often wanting to pay no more than $500 for a quality website. (Some offer to pay no more than $1/hour. How absurd...) I think I am a good web designer - I don't come up with the best designs on Earth, but I think they are good. Plus I spend a lot of time and effort thinking for clients and trying to come up with custom solutions for them. And it irks me to have clients turn me down for another 'designer' who clearly modifies existing templates for a living, simply because I'm more expensive.

So I realize that in order for me to survive, I will need to start finding clients elsewhere. Can fellow freelance web designers share how and where you find your clients? Any idea and/or experience will help.

Thanks in advance, I look forward to hearing from you.

YAWD

Member #
    Liked
    2783 times
    In order:

Previous business contacts I established as a teenager (not the generic "networking" advice that people spout off, but people I've actually talked to).
    Search.
    Word of mouth.
    oDesk.
    A couple from WDF (although that's not why I'm here).

Mind you, if you're looking for a generic answer to help you out, you probably won't get very far for two reasons:

1) You're a web designer. You haven't indicated that you're a web developer, which means you probably aren't. That makes you one of about 10,000,000 people on the planet who are web designers. That means there's absolutely nothing on the surface to distinguish you from anyone else.