Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hi, this is my first post, and it's not really related to web design.

For years now, I've been trying to get started in free-lance web design, but I have been hampered by fears and self-doubt.

I don't know how to get started. I'm competent enough with DW and PS (the two main tools I've always used) but I don't know how to charge clients, or whether I can actually do it. It would be my first time, and I admit I'm intimidated by the prospect of not handling it right. Honestly, I think I suffer from depression. Hell, I don't even know if I'm cut out for web design, even though I've been telling people I'm a web designer.

The last time I had a full-time job in a web design company was 12 years ago... and it's been a rough ride ever since. I took other jobs to get by, and 3 years ago, I tried to get back into web design, this time as a free-lancer.

I recently tried to design a personal site for a friend, and I actually had a pretty good design, but I never got around to finishing it. I think the years of unemployment and feeling that I was a failure took a toll on my motivation and drive. I have a hard time now trying to finish what I started, and it hasn't been easy to just do the job...

Anyway, I think I wanted an objective outsider to tell me like it is, and tell me whether I'm cut out for this business or not. I am introverted, and though I have good interpersonal skills, I am not very socially adept in the office, so I prefer to work alone.

I am also VERY non-technical, i.e., I know almost nothing about programming, or the latest trends or techniques about this n' that. All my knowledge is intuitive, and based solely on my competence in DW and PS.