Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By TheGAME1264
  • 2 Post By Vapr_Arts
  • 1 Post By TheGAME1264

Thread: Advice on A.S. for Web Design

Member #

Advice on A.S. for Web Design

Hi, everyone.
    Can anybody give me a little advice? I am looking to become a web designer, with the possibility of learning some back-end stuff after I start working.
    I know that a lot of web designers are self-taught, and I may go that route, at least in part.
    Assuming, however that I am looking at a choice between several junior college Associates in Science degrees, however, which of the following programs do you think would be most useful in helping me to learn web design as it is done in the real world?

=========================================
    FIRST PROGRAM
    CGS 2820C Web dev and design
    CTS 1441 Database fundamentals
    COP 2801 Javascript fundamentals
    COP 2812 XML and Web Services
    COP 2842 Database Driven Websites Using PHP and MYSQL
    CGS 2172C E-Commerce Web Development
    GRA 2751C Visual Design for Web
    COP 2940 Web Dev Internship & Practicum

OPEN SOURCE
    COP 2800 Programming in Java
    COP 2805C Advanced Java Web Development
    COP 2806C Java Server Pages and Servlets
    COP 2841C Advanced Web Programming with CGI/Perl
    COP 2843 Advanced Programming in PHP

MICROSOFT
    COP 2360 Intro to C# Programming
    COP 2362C Advanced C# Programming
    COP 2823C Advanced MICROSOFT Web Development
    COP 2332 Introduction to Programming with Visual Basic .NET
    COP 2848C - Server Side Scripting with ASP.NET

I have to choose Open Source or Microsoft as a specialization with this one. I am far more inclined to go Open Source.

SECOND PROGRAM
    CGS 2820 Web Authoring -HTML
    CGS 1103 Project Management